Black Friday in United States

banner-468x60

Black Friday is the day after Thanksgiving Day in the USA and falls on the Friday after the fourth Thursday in November. It is a busy shopping day and is a holiday in some states.

What do people do?

Many people have a day off work or choose to take a day from their quota of annual leave on Black Friday. Some people use this to make trips to see family members or friends who live in other areas or to go on vacation. Others use it to start shopping for the Christmas season.

Shopping for Christmas presents is also popular on Black Friday. Many stores have special offers and lower their prices on some goods, such as toys.

Public life

Black Friday is not a federal holiday, but is a public holiday in some states. Many people take a day of their annual leave on the day after Thanksgiving Day. Many organizations also close for the Thanksgiving weekend.

Public transit systems may run on their normal schedule or may have changes. Some stores extend their opening hours on Black Friday. There can also be congestion on roads to popular shopping destinations.

Background

Black Friday is one of the busiest shopping days in the USA. There are two popular theories as to why the day after Thanksgiving Day is called Black Friday. One theory is that the wheels of vehicles in heavy traffic on the day after Thanksgiving Day left many black markings on the road surface, leading to the term Black Friday.

The other theory is that the term Black Friday comes from an old way of recording business accounts. Losses were recorded in red ink and profits in black ink. Many businesses, particularly small businesses, started making profits prior to Christmas. Many hoped to start showing a profit, marked in black ink, on the day after Thanksgiving Day.

Black Friday Observances

Black Friday 2012
Friday, November 23, 2012
Black Friday 2013
Friday, November 29, 2013

Other holidays in November 2012 in United States

  • All Saints’ Day ―Thursday, November 1, 2012
  • All Souls’ Day ―Friday, November 2, 2012
  • Daylight Saving Time ends ―Sunday, November 4, 2012
  • Election Day ―Tuesday, November 6, 2012
  • Election Day ―Tuesday, November 6, 2012
  • International Day for Preventing the Exploitation of the Environment in War and Armed Conflict ―Tuesday, November 6, 2012
  • Return Day Delaware ―Thursday, November 8, 2012
  • World Science Day for Peace and Development ―Saturday, November 10, 2012
  • Veterans Day ―Sunday, November 11, 2012
  • Veterans Day ―Monday, November 12, 2012
  • Diwali/Deepavali ―Tuesday, November 13, 2012
  • World Diabetes Day ―Wednesday, November 14, 2012
  • Muharram/Islamic New Year ―Thursday, November 15, 2012
  • World Philosophy Day ―Thursday, November 15, 2012
  • International Day for Tolerance ―Friday, November 16, 2012
  • World Day of Remembrance for Road Traffic Victims ―Sunday, November 18, 2012
  • International Men’s Day ―Monday, November 19, 2012
  • Universal Children’s Day ―Tuesday, November 20, 2012
  • Africa Industrialization Day ―Tuesday, November 20, 2012
  • World Television Day ―Wednesday, November 21, 2012
  • Thanksgiving Day ―Thursday, November 22, 2012
  • Lincoln’s Birthday ―Friday, November 23, 2012
  • American Indian Heritage Day ―Friday, November 23, 2012
  • Robert E Lee’s Birthday ―Sunday, November 25, 2012
  • International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women ―Sunday, November 25, 2012
  • International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People ―Thursday, November 29, 2012

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>